The structures that comprise St Margaret’s Church were built in one long phase of construction with the hall built first in 1897-8, and the ongoing construction of the church and manse completed in 1902. Later installations included the chancel windows (stained glass) in 1907, the organ in 1908 and the war memorial in 1920-1. The church was closed and the congregation dissolved in 1984, following which the building went into secular use, falling into disuse and disrepair in recent years.
The building is important for its religious and historical associations. It was a purpose-built place of worship associated with the Govan Parish Project (Church extension scheme), an outstanding project to address poverty in the parish from the 19th century and one which saw the successful construction of many churches to meet growing community need – of which St Margaret’s is today one of few survivors. It was begun under the administration of Dr John Macleod and the building itself is
architecturally significant as a work by prominent church architect Peter Macgregor Chalmers.
The conservation plan for this category B listed building was commissioned by the Glasgow Building Preservation Trust who were working with the community-led Oatlands Development Trust to explore ways of bringing the building back into use as a community hub.